Library A to Z    

Hours and Calendar: 2015 - 2016 (subject to change)
Fall term     Spring term     Summer term

Hours for Fall 2015 - Spring 2016
Day(s) Regular Hours Extended Hours
Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m. * Open at 1:00 p.m. *
Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 2:00 a.m. * OPEN *
Friday 7:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. Close at 7:00 p.m. or 10:00 p.m.
Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Open at 9:00 a.m.
Close at 5:00 p.m. or 10:00 p.m.

* While the Library is open to the public during the day, access to the Library is limited beginning at 10:00 p.m. Between 10:00 p.m. and closing, only those with an official UAB ID card (BlazerID) or an active UAB alumni card are allowed to enter or remain in the building. UAB Security is in the building to enforce this requirement.

Hours for Summer 2016
Day(s) Regular Hours
Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.


   Fall Term 2015
August 24 Monday 7:30 a.m. - 2:00 a.m. Regular Hours
Fall term begins
September 7 Monday closed Labor Day holiday
November 22 Sunday closed Fall break
November 23 - 25 Monday - Wednesday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Fall break
November 26 - 28 Thursday - Saturday closed Thanksgiving holidays
November 29 Sunday open at 1:00 p.m. Extended Hours begin
November 30 - December 3 Monday - Thursday open 24 hours  
December 4 Friday close at 10:00 p.m.  
December 5 Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
December 6 Sunday open at 1:00 p.m.  
December 7 - 10 Monday - Thursday open 24 hours  
December 11 Friday close at 7:00 p.m. Extended Hours end
December 12 - 13 Saturday - Sunday closed  
December 14 - 18 Monday - Friday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
December 19 - 20 Saturday - Sunday closed  
December 21 - 24 Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
December 25 - 27 Friday - Sunday closed Holiday
December 28 - 31 Monday - Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
January 1, 2016 - January 3 Friday - Sunday closed Holiday
January 4 - 8 Monday - Friday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
January 9 - 10 Saturday - Sunday closed  


   Spring Term 2016
January 11 Monday 7:30 a.m. - 2:00 a.m. Regular Hours
Spring term begins
January 18 Monday closed Dr. Martin Luther King holiday
March 20 Sunday closed Spring break
March 21 - 25 Monday - Friday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Spring break
March 26 Saturday closed Spring break
March 27 Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.  
April 17 Sunday open at 1:00 p.m. Extended Hours begin
April 18 - 21 Monday - Thursday open 24 hours  
April 22 Friday close at 10:00 p.m.  
April 23 Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
April 24 Sunday open at 1:00 p.m.  
April 25 - 28 Monday - Thursday open 24 hours  
April 29 Friday close at 7:00 p.m. Extended Hours end
April 30 - May 1 Saturday - Sunday closed  
May 2 - 6 Monday - Friday 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
May 7 - 8 Saturday - Sunday closed  


   Summer Term 2016
May 9 Monday 7:30 a.m. - 11:00 p.m. Regular Summer Hours
Summer term begins
May 14 - 15 Saturday - Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
May 21 - 22 Saturday - Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
May 28 - 29 Saturday - Sunday 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.  
May 30 Monday closed Memorial Day holiday
July 4 Monday closed Independence Day holiday